Jun 17, 2010

2010 National Awards for Local Government

2010 National Awards for Local Government

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

June 17 2010

The Prime Minister, Kevin Rudd and Minister for Local Government Anthony Albanese today announced the winners of the prestigious National Awards for Local Government.

The awards were presented at the nation’s largest annual gathering of mayors and shire presidents, the Australian Council of Local Government.

The two winners of the National Award for Excellence were presented their awards by the Prime Minister. The winners are:

  • Brewarrina Shire Council for their Brewarrina Rural and Remote Dental program. The program provides free dental services to children under the age of 18 and Health Card Holders, a mobile service for patients with travel limitations and valuable rural and remote work experience for dental students.
  • Byron Shire Council which won in the small council range, with their Brunswick Area Sewerage Augmentation Scheme: Waltzing the Billabong project. This project began with the improvement of sewerage works but has now been expanded into a comprehensive approach to the restoration of a large area of degraded swampland.

In addition, 20 councils and shires received awards across 12 categories today.

Mr Albanese said that the National Awards were about highlighting the great work of local governments in their communities.

“The winners were selected by an independent judging panel led by the former Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Jim Soorley.

“These winning councils and shires come from right across Australia, from small and large councils, urban and rural, regional and remote.

“Their projects highlighted local achievements, including in infrastructure, financial management, regional development, urban planning, health, climate change, strengthening Indigenous communities and cultural diversity.

“This year marks the 24th successful year of the National Awards, with 216 entries coming in from across the nation.

“I want to thank everyone who made a submission as well as recognise the efforts of the judges,” Mr Albanese concluded.

Further information: www.infrastructure.gov.au/local/awards