Apr 4, 2009

2009 National Awards for Local Government

2009 National Awards for Local Government


The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

April 4 2009

The Rudd Labor Government has today announced that nominations are open for the prestigious 2009 National Awards for Local Government.

Since the inception of the Awards in 1986, thousands of projects have been recognised for delivering practical improvements to local communities.

This year, we have made important changes to the way that the awards are structured.

The Awards will have a new theme, ‘Local Government: Building Australian Communities’, to recognise local government’s role in providing infrastructure and delivering services.

Awards will be presented in each of the 11 categories with only one overall winner declared. The categories are as follows:

Capacity Building

1) Innovation in Regional Development

2) Strength in Diversity

3) Strengthening Indigenous Communities

4) Women in Local Government

5) Youth Engagement

Community Services

6) Excellence in Alcohol Management

7) Health and Wellbeing


8) Innovation in Natural Resource Management

9) Leading Community Greenhouse Actions

Infrastructure and Services

10) Improving Service Delivery through Collaborations

11) Managing Community Assets

All elected local governments are invited to enter the awards and demonstrate how local government contributes to building Australian communities.

Entries for the 2009 National Awards will close on Friday 17 April 2009. For further information: 1800 065 113, or www.infrastructure.gov.au/local/awards.