May 26, 2009

2009 National Awards for Loval Government – Category Winners announced

2009 National Awards for Loval Government – Category Winners announced


The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

May 26 2009

Twenty one council and shire projects have been selected as Category Winners in the 2009 National Awards for Local Government, which were announced today.

Independent judging panels selected the winners across 11 award categories.

The 2009 Category Award winners came from every state in the Commonwealth, and included urban, regional, rural and remote councils.

The theme for this year’s Awards is ‘Local Government – Building Australian Communities’.

The 2009 Awards were open to all elected councils and shires around Australia.

The National Awards have been held annually since 1986 and are intended to highlight innovation in delivering infrastructure and services to local communities.

This year’s Award categories encouraged innovation in infrastructure, health, natural resource development, environmental sustainability, Indigenous engagement and collaborative service delivery.

Since 1986, the Awards have helped councils to share good practice in order to find local solutions for community challenges.

Overall, 233 entries were received from local councils, making this year one of the more competitive awards in recent times.

These Category Winners will now go on to the national judging round to determine the overall National Winners.

National Winners will be announced at the Australian Council of Local Government meeting in June 2009.

Information about the National Awards for Local Government and Category Winners can be found at