Aug 7, 2013

Australian Communications and Media Authority appointments

I am pleased to announce the appointment of three new part-time members to the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA).

I congratulate Mrs Rosemary Sinclair, Ms Anita Jacoby and Mr James Cameron on their new appointments as part-time ACMA Authority members for a period of five years.

Mrs Sinclair brings extensive experience working in the communications, broadcasting and telecommunications sector, including her role as the Managing Director of Australian Telecommunications Users Group.

Ms Anita Jacoby has considerable media and broadcasting industry experience, having worked with every major commercial television network and as an Executive at an independent production company.

Mr James Cameron has worked in a number senior management roles within the Government’s communication portfolio and is currently Chief Executive Officer to the National Water Commission.

I am also pleased to announce that Mr Chris Cheah has been reappointed as a full-time member of the ACMA for a further year.

Mr Cheah was first appointed as a full-time member in July 2005. His experience, knowledge and record of achievement will ensure the continued strength of the ACMA Board.

The new part-time ACMA members will complement the skills of the other members ensuring collectively that the ACMA is well placed for the road ahead. These appointments take effect from 5 August 2013.

These appointments were decided by Government prior to the issue of writs for the election.