Jun 16, 2020

Business – Rearrangement – Tuesday, 16 June 2020

Mr ALBANESE (GrayndlerLeader of the Opposition) (18:42): I move:

That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the private Members’ business notice relating to the disallowance of the Australian Postal Corporation (Performance Standards) Amendment (2020 Measures No. 1) Regulations 2020 standing in the name of the Member for Grayndler being called on immediately and given priority over all other business for final determination of the House.

The fact is that this change, which will scale back services and will mean that people will only be able to get basic letter services on two days a week, is a disgrace. There has been no proper public debate on this. With the cover of the pandemic, what they are doing is saying to older and vulnerable Australians, ‘We will rip up the community service obligations’—

Mr PORTER (PearceAttorney-General, Minister for Industrial Relations and Leader of the House) (18:43): I move:

That the Member be no longer heard.

The SPEAKER: The question is the Leader of the Opposition be no further heard.

The SPEAKER: Is the motion seconded?

The House divided. [18:47]

(The Speaker—Hon. Tony Smith)

DIVISION:AYES 59 (9 majority) NOES 50 PAIRS 20
Allen, K Andrews, KL
Archer, BK Bell, AM
Broadbent, RE Chester, D
Christensen, GR Conaghan, PJ
Coulton, M Drum, DK (teller)
Dutton, PC Entsch, WG
Falinski, JG Fletcher, PW
Frydenberg, JA Gee, AR
Gillespie, DA Goodenough, IR
Haines, H Hammond, CM
Hastie, AW Hawke, AG
Hunt, GA Joyce, BT
Kelly, C Leeser, J
Ley, SP Littleproud, D
Liu, G Martin, FB
McCormack, MF McIntosh, MI
McVeigh, JJ Morrison, SJ
O’Brien, T O’Dowd, KD
Pearce, GB Pitt, KJ
Porter, CC Price, ML
Ramsey, RE (teller) Robert, SR
Sharkie, RCC Simmonds, J
Steggall, Z Stevens, J
Sukkar, MS Taylor, AJ
Tehan, DT Tudge, AE
van Manen, AJ Vasta, RX
Wallace, AB Webster, AE
Wicks, LE Wilson, RJ
Wyatt, KG Young, T
Zimmerman, T
Albanese, AN Aly, A
Bandt, AP Bird, SL
Bowen, CE Burke, AS
Burney, LJ Burns, J
Butler, MC Butler, TM
Chalmers, JE Chesters, LM
Clare, JD Coker, EA
Collins, JM Dick, MD
Dreyfus, MA Elliot, MJ
Fitzgibbon, JA Gorman, P
Hayes, CP Husic, EN
Jones, SP Katter, RC
Kearney, G Keogh, MJ
King, CF King, MMH
Marles, RD Mitchell, BK
Mitchell, RG Mulino, D
Murphy, PJ O’Connor, BPJ
Perrett, GD Phillips, FE
Plibersek, TJ Rishworth, AL
Ryan, JC (teller) Shorten, WR
Smith, DPB Stanley, AM (teller)
Swanson, MJ Templeman, SR
Thistlethwaite, MJ Vamvakinou, M
Watts, TG Wells, AS
Wilkie, AD Zappia, A
Alexander, JG Byrne, AM
Andrews, KJ Champion, ND
Buchholz, S Conroy, PM
Coleman, DB Freelander, MR
Connelly, V Claydon, SC
Evans, TM Georganas, S
Flint, NJ Giles, AJ
Hogan, KJ Gosling, LJ
Howarth, LR Hill, JC
Irons, SJ O’Neil, CE
Laming, A Khalil, P
Landry, ML Leigh, AK
Marino, NB McBride, EM
Morton, B Neumann, SK
O’Brien, LS Wilson, JH
Pasin, A Owens, JA
Sharma, DN Payne, AE
Thompson, P Rowland, MA
Wilson, TR Snowdon, WE
Wood, JP Thwaites, KL