Jun 29, 2009

CASA and ATSB appointments

CASA and ATSB appointments

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

29 June 2009

Today I announce a number of significant appointments to the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) and the Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) – the nation’s two key aviation safety agencies.

The appointments flow from the landmark legislation that passed through the Parliament in May creating a new five member expert board for CASA and establishing the ATSB as a separate statutory agency with a full time Chief Commissioner and two part time Commissioners.

The intellectual calibre and diverse experiences of the individuals being appointed underscores the determination of the Rudd Labor Government to preserve public confidence in the safety and reliability of air travel.

While Australia has an enviable safety record, we cannot take past success for granted.

Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA)

The membership of the new CASA Board will be:

  • Dr Allan Hawke (Chair);
  • Mr David Gray (Deputy Chair);
  • Mr Trevor Danos;
  • Ms Helen Gillies.

The current CASA Chief Executive Officer and Director of Aviation Safety, Mr John McCormick, will be an ex officio member of the Board.

Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB)

The new ATSB Chief Commissioner will be Mr Martin Dolan. Mr Dolan will be joined by Mr Noel Hart in the position of part-time Commissioner, with the second part-time position to be filled in the near future.

All appointees will take up their positions from 1 July 2009.