Dec 12, 2012

Chair and Directors Re-appointed to the ARTC

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Mr Anthony Albanese and Minister for Finance and Deregulation Senator Penny Wong today announced the re-appointments of Mr John Caldon, Ms Pamela Catty and Mr Barry Cotter to the board of the Australian Rail Track Corporation.

The Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC), is the wholly government owned company that manages the nation’s interstate rail network.

Mr Caldon has been re-appointed as a Director and Chair, a position he has held since 2010. His re-appointment until January 2015 is in recognition of his proven ability to provide the organisation with purpose and direction, particularly as it continues the rollout of the largest capital works program in generations.

Ms Catty and Mr Barry Cotter have also been re-appointed to the Board as directors.

Both Ms Catty and Mr Cotter have brought a wealth of experience to the Board and will continue to serve for a further three years until March 2016.

The ARTC’s multi-billion modernisation of the interstate freight rail network is central to this Federal Labor Government’s broader efforts to lift national productivity, curb harmful carbon emissions and take the pressure off the nation’s highways.