Jul 3, 2009

Closing the Gap Community Awards

Closing the Gap Community Awards

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

July 3 2009

Federal Member for Grayndler Anthony Albanese today presented seven local residents with certificates in recognition of their contribution to build trust and partnerships between indigenous and non-indigenous people in the Inner West.

The presentation was timed to coincide with NAIDOC Week which runs from 5 July to 13 July and celebrates the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. The award recipients were:

  • Uncle Lester Bostock, president of the Aboriginal Disability Network and on the World Committee for Indigenous People with a Disability;
  • Aunty Esther Carroll, aboriginal elder who performs "Welcome to country";
  • Kim Chan, organiser of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander activities at Dulwich Hill Public School;
  • Sharon Maza, aboriginal support worker with Yurangai Child and Family Services;
  • Nicole Ryan, coordinator of Multimix Mob indigenous playgroup;
  • Jenny Thomsen, community development worker in aboriginal services at Marrickville Council; and
  • Derek Wilson, aboriginal liaison officer at Marrickville Police Station.

"These people do a great job, working on the frontline and making a difference for local indigenous people," said Mr Albanese.

"Their work isn’t always recognised so it gives me a great pleasure to offer that recognition on behalf of the Australian Government."

All Australian Governments, through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG), have set ambitious targets to reduce infant mortality and improve life expectancy, employment and education for Indigenous Australians.

The Federal Government is also providing $5.9 billion in new funding to drive these reforms over coming years.

In conjunction with NAIDOC Week, Anthony presented Closing the Gap certificates to (from left) Nicole Ryan, Kim Chan, Sharon Maza, Derek Wilson, Jenny Thompson and (seated) Aunty Esther Carroll and Uncle Lester Bostock.