Jul 23, 2008

Nominations Now Open for Australian of the Year Awards 2009

Nominations Now Open for Australian of the Year Awards 2009


The Hon Anthony Albanese

Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

July 23 2008

Anthony Albanese has called on Inner West residents to submit nominations for the Australian of the Year Awards 2009.

“You could help find the next Australian of the Year simply by submitting a nomination for someone whose achievements you admire.”

“There are many people in our community who have made significant contributions, who give of their time and expertise or who are inspirational through their leadership.”

“Nominating them for one of the Australian of the Year Award categories is a wonderful way to say thank you.”

“Even if they are not selected as a national recipient, every nominee receives certificate acknowledging their nomination, “said Anthony Albanese.

If there’s someone you think should be recognised, nominate them for an award in one of four categories:

  •  Australian of the Year – open to all Australians who deserve recognition for their extraordinary achievements, contributions to the community and nation and who are inspirational role models to all Australians;
  • Senior Australian of the Year – recognises those Australians aged 60 years and over who continue to achieve and contribute to the community;
  • Young Australian of the Year – recognises those extraordinary young Australians aged 16 – 30 years who are contributing to our community;
  • Australia’s Local Hero – recognises Australians who make a real difference in their local communities and whose outstanding contributions enrich the lives of those around them.

Nominating is simple – you can complete a nomination form online at www.australianoftheyear.gov.au, pick up a nomination form at your local Commonwealth Bank branch or call 1300 655 193 for more information.

This will be the 30th anniversary of the introduction of the Young Australian of the Year Award, which began in 1979. In 2009, the age criteria for the Young Australian of the Year Award has been extended by five years and nominees are now eligible from 16 years through to 30 years of age.

“It is important to recognise young people in the community who are doing great things.”

“We need to remember to acknowledge the role young people play in our community and provide support for their endeavours.”

“Nominating young people is a great way to show our encouragement of their efforts and to provide them with the motivation to continue to follow their dreams,” said Anthony Albanese.

Previous Young Australian of the Year Award recipients include:

  • Moto GP World Champion Casey Stoner (2008)
  • Young Indigenous leader Tania Major (2007)
  • Film maker Khoa Do (2005)
  • Paleontologist Scott Hucknell (2002)
  • Swimmer Ian Thorpe (2000)
  • Multicultral community leader Tan Le (1998)

Nominations for all four categories close on Sunday 31 August 2008.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards or to submit your nomination online, visit http://www.australianoftheyear.org.au