Jan 27, 2009

NTC Review: Call for public submissions

NTC Review: Call for public submissions


The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport,

Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of the House

Member for Grayndler

January 27 2009

The future direction of the National Transport Commission (NTC) is being reviewed, with industry and members of the public being encouraged to have their say.

The nation’s Transport Ministers – the Australian Transport Council – has asked an expert panel to review the operations and effectiveness of the NTC, the independent statutory body established to advise governments on the development and implementation of uniform or nationally consistent transport regulations.

The Review Steering Committee will be chaired by Mr Bruce Wilson AM, with assistance from Ms Tania Whyte and Mr Adam Lewis.

The Committee will examine:

  • The NTC’s effectiveness in delivering regulatory and operational reforms to improve road, rail and intermodal transport; and
  • The future of the NTC in light of the future transport policy and regulatory challenges.

The review will provide recommendations on the future of the NTC, including possible amendments to the relevant legislation.

The review’s findings and recommendations are due to be presented to the ATC in the middle of the year, which in turn will report to COAG in September.

The Review Steering Committee will consult with industry and key transport organisations. I would also encourage all those interested in the future of the NTC to make a submission.

Written submissions close on 6 March 2009.

Further information on the NTC review can be downloaded from www.ntc.gov.au, www.infrastructure.gov.au/transport/australia/ntc/ or www.atcouncil.gov.au.

NTC Review Steering Committee Members

Mr Bruce Wilson AM (Chair)

In July 2008, Mr Wilson was appointed to lead the development of the new Queensland Public Service Commission. Previously, Mr Wilson was Chief Executive of Queensland Transport for some 12 years.

Ms Tania Whyte (Committee Member)

Ms Whyte is Linfox Logistics’ President Commercial. Previously, Ms Whyte worked with Boston Consulting Group.

Mr Adam Lewis (Committee Member)

Mr Lewis is currently Director of McKinsey & Company. He was appointed as a community interest representative to the Australia Council in 2001, and reappointed in 2004.